His Rightful Place

Before the summer began, I determined something in my heart. That I would get closer to Jesus again like I used to be. If you know me very well, you probably assumed that my walk with the Lord has been super strong. Well, I was going through a season.  It wasn’t a bad walk with the Lord, but it’s not what it has been before.  And I knew that. 

I wrote down a “Summer Mission Statement” in my journal:  I purpose in my heart, that this summer I will spend a significant amount of time in God’s presence, daily, through prayer, God’s Word, and reflection; in order that I may grow as a child of the Lord.

The past week or so God has really been speaking to my heart and calling me back to where I used to be with Him. Back to when Jesus was the center of my life. Back to when I would go to Him before going to others. Back to when I would say “Yes, Lord” when he asked of something. Back to a place of peace and calm. 

I’ve taken up walking this summer. I’m almost 29 but I’m thinking like I’m 60. I want to partake in some sort of exercise I know I’ll be able to do in 30 years and not be miserable while doing it. 

So I was on a walk last night, and I decided to forgo my cell phone and just talk to God. And listen. And I’m glad I did because it was just a time of confirmation of what’s been going on in my heart and head this past week. 

One podcast said something like this, “We go about our daily lives, inviting Jesus to join us, but it’s not about us allowing Him to be in our lives, we should be joyous and humbled by the fact that He has invited us into HIS life.”

I woke up this morning super refreshed after days of restless nights. And I’ve decided I’m kicking everything off the throne of my heart that has been in the way of Jesus Christ reigning in my life. I’m so excited to get back to where I was with Him and for Him to take up His rightful place in my life again. I feel rejuvenated and renewed!  

A good friend of mine said, “If you want what you had, you have to do what you did.” Simple yet profound!  

Getting back to where I once was… I’m excited for this new season!  

Leave a Reply

