Merciful Reminder

It’s the end of the school year and this one is a doozy. We have about five weeks left and the students definitely get that!  

This is what happens every year during this time:  The 7th graders start acting like 8th graders because they’ll be the big dawgs next year (only to be bottom of the totem pole again as a freshman) and the 8th graders; well, they’re just ready to get out!  So there tends to be more behavior problems. The students think the teachers are being mean but really we’re just having to enforce more because they’re acting out more. It’s a perpetual cycle in April/May. 

Let me shed some light:  I usually have a pretty good handle on discipline in my classroom. But in the past week I gave three PCSs (parent communication sheets), two detentions, and even had a parent meeting.  I was telling one of my paras, “No mercy this time of year!”

Then yesterday as I was praying and spending some time with the Lord before school, He completely reprimanded my thinking with His actions.

I literally said something like this to God:

“Lord, I lift up my students to You. It’s that time of year and I just pray that you would help them to finish strong and to behave properly. It’s getting hard!  I only have so much mercy to give!”

And then God stopped me. And convicted me. 

When I said those last lines, I only have so much mercy to give; I was reminded of God’s mercy toward me. What if one day he was like, “Welp, sorry. I’ve given you chance after chance. I only have so much mercy to give.”  God’s mercy has rained down in my life so many times and on a daily basis.

The Bible says His mercies are new every day.  (Lam. 3:22-23). Which I’m thankful and grateful that I don’t always get what I deserve.  

So when I got to school that morning I went over to the white board, and erased the 6 or 7 names who were under the “Warning” label and was reminded of how God extends His mercy to me every single morning, and erases MY name, despite my behavior. 

“It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.” (Lamentations‬ ‭3:22-23‬ ‭KJV‬‬)

Leave a Reply

