Why I Left What I Love

A lot has gone down since my last post. I’ve been extremely busy with every day life. But school is officially out and I am officially inspired to write! Today I’m going to write about something that I keep getting questions about and strange looks whenever it’s brought up.

I grew up playing soccer. I started playing on a team in 2nd grade for The Kicks. (original, huh?). Then I played for The Storm, which I still have my very first trophy ever from back in the early 90s! (Wow that makes me feel old). I went on to play for The Vipers, The All-Stars and the Red Hot Chili Peppers. When I was in 5th grade I gave up soccer to focus on AAU basketball. Everyone always thinks soccer is my favorite sport, but it’s actually basketball! Anyways, I picked soccer back up when I got to high school, playing all four years for my alma mater. I ended up receiving a soccer scholarship, which determined my choice of college to attend. I played at William Penn University all four years, even being captain of the team my senior year. Then I graduated and moved to Liberal, Kansas. Where I began my teaching career and was also offered an assistant coaching position at the high school in town. I gladly accepted and was the assistant from 2010-2012. I was then offered the head coaching position, which again, I gladly accepted.

This past spring, I resigned from coaching soccer when the season was done. I love soccer, I do. But I love God more. My intended plan of resignation was to wait until next spring, 2016. I had it all planned out from the time I started coaching there back in 2010. I was going to step down as coach when my first group of students as seventh graders, would be graduating, in 2016.  Because a lot of them played for me.  I was so gung-ho on bowing out gracefully with that group of seniors. But things change. I changed. My walk with the Lord changed. So I decided to step back a season earlier.

Prior to this 2015 season, I knew, in my heart of hearts, that this would be my last year coaching girls soccer at the high school. If I’m being completely honest, I knew last year, in 2014, that this would be my last year.

But why? Why end a season earlier than your original plan? And this is where I get the funny looks… God. That’s why. 

Through lots of prayer over the past months I can honestly feel at peace about my decision to step down as head coach. I just know God has something for me at this time next year. Maybe it’s focusing more on my teaching? Or going back to school? Maybe coaching at the middle school instead? Or maybe just nothing… Relaxing and enjoying a break! I have NO idea what God has for me at this time next year but I completely trust Him.

Another thing I had to think about was the pay cut I would be taking. Quite a big monthly chunk. But I just trusted God with my decision and He followed through and provided for me already!  The last day of school I received an email saying I was eligible to move over horizontally on the pay scale. Plus our district is doing a longevity stipend which will start in November. And I changed my health insurance. I worked out all the math, and I’m breaking even this next year by making the same, only without coaching soccer. Crazy!

But God is good and always faithful. Just gotta trust Him.  I just want to be obedient and sensitive to the Holy Spirit. I love coaching soccer, but I love God more. I have no idea what the Lord will have for me next spring but I’m excited!

Leave a Reply

