14-in-1s: Encouragement (Part 2)

In my previous post I talked about 14-in-1s, a form of conditioning for basketball, and how players are given a second chance if they fail to make it the first time, much like God gives us second, third, and fourth chances…

In this part I’m going to talk about the people that cheer on the runners; the ones who encourage from the sideline while their partner is doing the running.  I’m also going to make a personal connection to this using the friends I have in my life who do the same thing as I’m running my “race”; encourage.

I’ve noticed there’s different types of encouragers during the 14-in-1s.  First we have the understanding one.  The one who just finished running so they know exactly what you’re going through.  This person can relate to the runner.  In my life, the person who encourages me through understanding would have to be my friend Jeni.  She gets me.  She believes in me.  She can understand me even when I think no one does.

The second type of encourager I’ve seen in the 14-in-1s is the tough one.  The one who is in your ear, encouraging you, but in a tough love kind of way.  They’re straight up and say it how it is.  Saying exactly what you need to hear without sugar coating it, to keep you going and push you forward.  The person in my life who encourages me through tough love would have to be my sister from another mister, Tiffany.  She’s given me so much truth in my “race”.  There’s two things she’s said that have stuck out to me:

  1. The Prater Rule:  You’re not responsible for how other people treat you but you are responsible for how you react.
  2. If you don’t make things a big deal, they won’t be.

I can always count on Tiff to tell me what I need to hear, when I need to hear it, exactly how I need to hear it.  I’m thankful for that!

The third type of encourager I’ve noticed is the motivator.  The one who is encouraging with positivity, the person who believes in you and knows that you can make your 14-in-1s.  This would definitely be my friend Randi.  She motivates me so much as a teacher and a coach.  She gets my philosophy and why I am the way I am and pushes me to be better than I was the day before.

The last type of encourager I’ll talk about is the even-keeled one; the calm one.  The person who is relaxed and knows you can finish strong, it’s just a matter of time.  When things get stirred up this person helps you to refocus.  This would be my friend Elizabeth, she encourages me in my “race” by just being calm, which calms me.

I have lots of people in my life that encourage me in many different ways.  These four friends of mine have one thing in common though, and they might not know it.  But they all encourage me in the Lord.  Which is the best encouragement I could ask for.

Leave a Reply

